Do you really need <ul> to make a nav bar? (Opinion & Question)

DarkxPunk

Hey everyone, So I have a comment to make and I would love feed back about my comment. Now I have been building websites for about 4 years now. I still know almost nothing and I have allot to learn, but I am trying my best to get there. Through my travels I have noticed many 'common practices' when attempting to code certain things, in this example a nav bar. Allot of the times these 'common practices' are over done and add extra code when not needed, or as far as I can tell. Here is my example: 'Common Practice' Nav Bar

<div id="nav"><ul><li><a href="#>Home</a></li><li><a href="#>About</a></li><li><a href="#>Contact</a></li><ul></div>

My Simple Nav Bar

<div id="nav"><a href="#>Home</a><a href="#>Home</a><a href="#>Home</a></div>

As you can see I saved allot of extra (almost useless) typing. I still gotta style it all the same in CSS, actually my simple nav requires less styling because I don't gotta remove default styling from the ul and li. 'Common Practice' Nav Bar CSS

ul,li {margin: 0;border: 0;padding: 0;list-style: none;}li {float: left;}li a {color: #eeeeee;}

My Simple Nav Bar CSS

#nav a {float: left;color: #eeeeee;}

By now I think you see my point. Now there are many instances where you need something to wrap the links, but why use ul + li when we have the beauty of divs? Thanks for reading this, hope this made your lives easier. Also please rip me apart if I am totally wrong, I WANNA LEARN :D.

For a single row of menu links, yes! that will work fine, the reason the ul li are used is when more than a single row but sublevel menu are required, and because of the way ul li are structured as in each sublevel is a child of the the previous level is why the ul li element are perfect for using for menus.