Want to learn PHP - Apache Server Question

Guest mariahswind

Guest mariahswind

I am sorry if this question comes under another topic....I am just in the preliminary stages attempting to teach myself PHP. I have no server/network experience so I feel really lost to a degree. (Basically all I know is HTML and CSS, so if there's something I should learn first before PHP, please advise.)As I need to install Apache Server I need a bit of education along these lines. I've purused the documentation at Apache's website and what I need to know is do I have to register a domain name in order to install it? Documentation says the following regarding installation:1.Network Domain. Enter the DNS domain in which your server is or will be registered in. For example, if your server's full DNS name is server.mydomain.net, you would type mydomain.net here.2. Server Name. Your server's full DNS name. From the example above, you would type server.mydomain.net here.I ask as I plan on only making the server accessible to myself as it allows for here:4. For whom to install Apache Select for All Users, on Port 80, as a Service - Recommended if you'd like your new Apache to listen at port 80 for incoming traffic. It will run as a service (that is, Apache will run even if no one is logged in on the server at the moment) Select only for the Current User, on Port 8080, when started Manually if you'd like to install Apache for your personal experimenting or if you already have another WWW server running on port 80.thank you,mariahswind

No, that is only for people who have hosted websites lol.. Get easyphp or something.. If you check out w3schools tut. on it they have links for everything you need. =]