How to calculate keyhold time (in milliseconds) of a keypress & inter-key latency time between 2 keys

sasha_eddy

Hi, I'm newbie & just have self-learning a few weeks ago...I've tried to understand how to implement my idea into asp.net vb programming & javascript. I've done all parts except the keystroke part.I would like to calculate the keyhold time of a keypress in ms & also the inter-key latency time between 2 keys. The idea is as below:key 'A' is pressed (keydown) - record keyhold timekey 'A' is depressed (keyup) - record keyhold timekey 'A' is pressed & key 'B' is depressed - record inter-key latency time And also, I need ideas how to put my keystroke data into database. Should I record the key character also??Example: A.down.time || A.up.time || A.B.timeWhat do you think is the simplest way to do as I'm a beginner... Tq. . . v(^_^)//

I would use an array to store timestamps when each key is pressed, and maybe another array to act as a buffer to list the order in which keys were pressed. If you want to go down the buffer then you can get each key, look it up in the other array to get the timestamp, and subtract to get the time between them. You can clear the buffer periodically if you want to, like if no keys are pressed. I'm not sure what you're actually trying to accomplish with this, maybe you clear the buffer or maybe you don't. The array storing timestamps could itself have arrays with multiple timestamps if you want to record multiple presses of the same key versus only the last press. I can't really suggest a database structure, I'm not sure what you're trying to accomplish by recording key strokes and timing.

• Like 1