Convert Date to unix

honkmaster

Hi I have the following code I think the date format is wrong. I'm posting a date from a form as 2013-01-10, before I post it to mysql I want to convert it to unix format I'm still a beginner so need a help Cheers Chris

$wholedate = $_POST['duedate'];$date_array = explode('.', $wholedate);$test = mktime(0,0,0,$date_array[1],$date_array[0],$date_array[2]);

what's the problem? what is the value of $test? from the documentationhttp://php.net/manual/en/function.mktime.php the params are hour, minute, second, month, day, year, so I think your order is wrong. i.e.

echo $date_array[0]; //should echo 2013, the yearecho $date_array[1]; //should echo 01, the monthecho $date_array[2]; //should echo 10, the day

so I think you would want to do something like this

$test = mktime(0,0,0,$date_array[1],$date_array[2],$date_array[0]);

this is a good site for testing things like this for accuracyhttp://www.epochconverter.com/

Do you mean to explode that string with a dot delimiter and not a hyphen delimiter? Anyway-- 2013-01-10 (with hyphens, not dots) is already a validly formatted date string* to pass directly to strtotime. The result is a Unix timestamp. EG: echo strtotime('2013-01-10'); // 1357804800 * as long as that is year-month-day format

Thanks for response and sorry for not stating the issue, when I run the code and check the unix date I get 1354233600 = 2012.11.30 ?? and not 2013-01-10 as expected. Cheers Chris
that doesn't make sense. your post is specifically asking to get a UNIX timestamp, which it appears you are getting. so what is the issue then?

This is code i'm using now, only the returned unix date is incorrect?

$wholedate = $_POST['duedate'];$date_array = explode('.', $wholedate);$test = mktime(0,0,0,$date_array[1],$date_array[2],$date_array[0]);echo $test;echo '<br>';echo date('Y-m-d', $test); //Check if timestamp returns wanted date format