Function size, parsing

LittleJoe

I'm designing a feature-rich website with object-oriented PHP and I have a performance question. My background is in C, C++ and C# (.NET) programming. Now all those are compiled whereas PHP is interpreted. The following require_once statements are at the top of each page:

<?phprequire_once "_php/library/Session.php"; // Session class (session related functionality)require_once "_php/library/Databases.php"; // Databases class (database related functionality)require_once "_php/library/DatesTimes.php"; // DatesTimes class (date and time related functionality)require_once "_php/library/User.php"; // User class (user related functionality)require_once "_php/library/Page.php"; // Page class (page related functionality)require_once "_php/library/common.php"; // general functions?> // (X)HTML 5 code

Now some of those files are large and have a lot of methods/functions that are rarely used but it makes sense to keep them there because of the design principles of OOP. However, where OOP shines the best is in languages such as C# where only the necessary parts of the application is loaded into memory (on the as-needed basis). My question is, will the PHP engine have to waste a lot of CPU parsing through the classes and their methods every time a page is requested even though they're not being used or is there only a performance cost when the methods are being envoked (this parsing is not necessary in C# because the code has already been compiled)? I'm just wondering if I should break down the OOP architecture into smaller units that don't make as much sense logically but do make sense performance-wise.