Trying to add javascripts into div and never seems to work

THRobinson

Hey there, I'm a newbie, still learning HTML5/CSS3 and working on a small project with some java script for an online course. Not having much luck when it comes to dropping it into a div container... original scripts are in a main container, however, pages I'm doing have a main container centred on screen, with containers inside (header, footer, main, etc) since I've learned that tables are now no longer used for the most part. I found that if I changed the css position from 'absolute' like in the examples we get to 'relative' the stuff at least shows up inside the div I want it to instead of the top left corner of the entire page. That being said, the sample I'm working on now, when I click the squares to move them, they jump down/over about 150px, which it doesn't do when set to 'absolute'. I apologize since I know it makes sense in my head but I'm certain makes no sense when reading it. :D Basically, drag/drop elements when the css is set to 'absolute' work fine, but appear top left of the screen. When set to 'relative' they appear inside the div where I want them to be, but, when clicked they jump over and down but still drag/drop... just considerably far from the pointer. Is there a trick I'm missing? As mentioned, I have a main container div, set at 750px wide, margin-left/right set to auto so appears centre. I then have divs set up like header, footer, body, that I put inside the container div. I'm trying to put a script inside the body. Should I zip/attach or just copy/paste the code? I have an html, two css sheets, and jpgs (background art). Or does someone have a suggestion to try without uploading anything? Thanks