Checkbox Displays Dropdown

kyleseitz

Hey i've been researching this for a while and haven't been able to find a solution that works for me, I actually have 2 problems; Goal: Display 3 drop down boxes - the second value is dependent on the first and the third on the second.Display 3 checkboxes - When each/any are checked, display 3 dropdowns with the same specifications as the one that always shows up. Problem: If I comment out one of the dropdown codes, the other will work.Checkbox will not show/hide other dropdowns. I'm pretty new to javascript/html. Here's my Fiddle. I currently have 1 checkbox but if somebody can help me get that one going, I'm sure I can model that to get the other 2 to work. ANY help would be appreciated - Please!:) Fiddle:http://jsfiddle.net/kyleseitz/SLY95/

That wasn't working for me at all. One issue is there were multiple line breaks in the middle of strings in the Javascript code, which isn't allowed in Javascript unless you escape them. Other than that, you have multiple functions defined with the same names, that's a problem. You can only have one function with a given name. If you need the same function to use different variables then you need to pass those variables to the function. The checkbox handler is referencing a function that doesn't exist, and the init function never runs when the page loads so there are never any options in the select lists. The jsfiddle website wraps all of the code in an onload handler, so it doesn't work there to attach another onload handler, it's never going to fire because the event already happened. When I try and correct those issues then the onchange handler for the select lists doesn't want to fire, the error console says the function doesn't exist. That's also because of jsfiddle, the function is defined in a local scope in the onload handler instead of a global scope. Do you have an example of this online somewhere else?