Trouble changing content width in WordPress

littlevictorian

I am brand new to WordPress and I'm trying to customize my Prose (Genesis) theme. Specifically, right now I'm having trouble with the widths of the content and sidebar. When I test out widths in inspect element, it looks perfect. So, I add the code to the Custom CSS box under the Genesis settings and it doesn't change. When I go back to inspect element, it doesn't show the dimensions I changed it to, it shows "Width: 100%" Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong? How do I change the widths if it's not by adding CSS?

There are several elements (too many to name) that require changes if you are trying make something fit in an area that is too small width wise. The overall width of your framework is 775px. You have to calculate your content area, sidebar, header, widget(s), etc to make sure it all fits. Otherwise, it just blows up.

Edited by newseed

Sorry, should have added more details. I am actually trying to make it smaller than it was originally. I resized the content area to 600px, and the sidebar to 130. I changed the header and footer area to 775 as well. The two widgets in the sidebar are set to 125px. Obviously there are other elements over-riding it and I just have no idea how to figure out what those are. Is it too soon to hate WordPress? :)