Processing Form with PHP and Using the Mail Function

msauer

Hi,

I am new to the W3School Forums. This past week I worked through the W3School “PHP Forms” section of the tutorial and all went well. I created a form, did the checks, then the validations and displayed the collected data on the screen.

Now I want to email the data instead of displaying it and I am now working though the W3School “The PHP mail() Function” section of the tutorial, I have successfully sent the email without doing all the checks and validation, but when I attempted to merge it with the email fuctions start to go wrong - I get a blank screen. Not sure what I am doing incorrectly.

I am already bald on one spot from pulling my hair. I have made so many adjustments that I now have confused myself. Can someone please offer a keen eye and some advice – pleeeeeeease ;)

What is the best way to post code so it doesn't post like a big lump of text and symbols. Any advice is greatly appreciated – Thanks in Advance!

I tried uploading the code in a word document but got message that I don't have permission to upload this kind of file. What kind of files are accepted?

Thanks a Bunch!

M

A blank pages usually means you have errors, and your server is configured to not show error messages. One option is to configure your server to display all error messages, which would be ideal if you're trying to learn. You can change those options in the php.ini file, the display_errors and error_reporting options. You can also paste your code here to do a syntax check only:http://www.piliapp.com/php-syntax-check/

What is the best way to post code so it doesn't post like a big lump of text and symbols.

Use a code box, there's a button on the editor to insert the code brackets so that you can paste code between them.

I tried uploading the code in a word document