First Time Javascript Game Maker

DerekBogie

Hello, I am new to the entire field of computer software development. I am currently a police officer who is undergoing college for a degree in computer science. I have taken a great deal of interest in html and javascript and find this language to be a wonderful language to know. With that being said I am a newb when it comes to correct methods. On my time off i have spent numerous upon numerous of hours coding a javascript, html, game. The game is the classic "Don't touch the walls with your mouse" style game with a better twist. I have spent numerous hours coding in the features and intros etc.... So i only have one level currently complete.

Since i am new and cannot find any similar topics to my question i thought i would ask you. My game is not built on canvas. I built it straight on html pages and then jump website pages to different aspects of the game such as level1, level 2, game over, etc.... I know I am doing this all wrong and most or all of you would be like "Don't quit your day job, This is a mess get rid of it" I would kindly request some pointers to help point in the right directions as to "fix" this game setup before i continue or perhaps some pointers on what i should be doing instead. I cannot find any other game that page jumps like mine so i assume it should not be done. Linked below is the actual game i temporarily uploaded for your viewing pleasures. If you request code let me know and i will post whichever code you would like to see. Like i said i am new and just want to do this right if i am doing this wrong.

Thanks Derek

http://emeraldcreations.site90.com/

Edited by DerekBogie

Game design is a complicated field. I can't teach you that in one post. But you should make your program load the entire game on one page. The reason games aren't spread over multiple pages is that the user can win the game by simply typing a URL into the browser.