"headers already sent by" problem

Dave Stewart

Hi everyone,

please bear with me as I am a novice!

I eventually got my login system to work but am trying to send the successfull login to a members page & am getting

"Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at..."

It claims that the headers were already set in the same PHP. I cannot find any header info before the line I'm using so am stuck. Anyone able to help me out here?

Thanks.

The coding is:

<?php$name = $_POST['name'];$password = $_POST['password'];if ($name && $password) { $connect = mysql_connect("--", "--", "--") or die('Connection to database failed'); mysql_select_db("--") or die ("Couldnt find database"); $sql = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM <the table> WHERE name = '$name'"); $numrows = mysql_num_rows($sql); if($numrows !=0) { while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($sql)) { $dbname = $row['name']; $dbpassword = $row['password']; } if($name==$dbname && $password==$dbpassword) { $_SESSION['name']=$dbname; header("Location: --.html"); } else echo ("Incorrect data entered"); } else echo "<center>your login was unsuccessful so please try again"; }?>

It seems to be working except the header line. :(

Seeing echo "<center>your login was unsuccessful so please try again"; suggests to me that this code would be placed and shown in the body tag of the page, if this is the case then this is the problem the header("Location: --.html"); MUST be at the very top of the page BEFORE any html.

Seeing echo "<center>your login was unsuccessful so please try again"; suggests to me that this code would be placed and shown in the body tag of the page, if this is the case then this is the problem the header("Location: --.html"); MUST be at the very top of the page BEFORE any html.

Thanks, and yes it is. But surely the login code needs to run first? Is there a way to redirect the page once the login script has proved successful?

Similar to this