Model and view for game grid pieces

studsm

HI everyone, i'm new to javascript/html/css and I am working on an assignment for school and could use a nudge in the correct direction. Please don't make any rude comments as I am just trying to learn and would only like advice on how to proceed with the assignment.

So I am creating battleship game using javascript/html/css and we are just doing small chunks of the full game each week as our assignment. So far all we have done is generated a game grid using javascript and put it on the html file. This is what I did for that.

//var column = ["0", "A", "B", "C", "D", "E", "F", "G", "H", "I", "J"];
var text = "<table style='width:30%'>";
//var text2 = "";
function generateGrid(rows, columns)
{
for (var j = 0; j < rows; j++)
{
text += "<tr>";
for (var i = 0; i < columns; i++)
{
text += "<td style='height: 30px'>" + " " + "</td>";
}
text += "</tr>";
}
text += "<br><br></table>";
document.getElementById("player1").innerHTML = text + "<br><br>";
document.getElementById("player2").innerHTML = text;
}
and my html file
<!DOCTYPE html>
<style>
h1{
color: green;
text-align: center;
background-color: transparent;
font-size-adjust: inherit;
}
</style>
<html>
<head>
<title>Battleship Grid</title>
<h1 style="color: red; font-family: "lucida console";" >Battleship Grid</h1>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="style.css">
</head>
<body>
<input type='button' value = 'New Game' onclick='generateGrid(10,10);'>
<h1>player 1</h1>
<div id = "player1"></div><br><br>
<h1>player2</h1>
<div id = "player2"></div>
<script type="text/javascript" src="view.js" ></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="model.js"></script>
</body>
</html>
now for the next assignment we are to create a model.js file, this file will contain objects and functions that I will need for the game. Here is what it says exactly for this part so there isn't confusion about what needs to be done.