Restructuring data hierarchy

squeal

I am new to XML and to programming in general, so go easy on me. I am working on a project to create and maintain a preset database for a digital audio units. We are looking to take presets from various older products and restructure them for use in a new product. I have gone through the XML and XSL tutorials, and have read some on XPath. It seems to me that XSL would be useful for rearranging the parent-child structures. It also seems that XPath may be used to parse the data for use in the embedded hardware. Does this sound feasible? Am I way off?

XSLT could rearrange one XML to another XML, so yes. If all this database is contained from within one or more XML files, it could be rearranged.Various problems however may arise due to one major drawback of XML: It has to be fully loaded in the parser, before it's parsed, so if the database is huge, it might take some time before you see the results.I would recommend that you use a server side scripting language to execute the transformation, but that's a thing to worry about later.