Issue with PHP and SQL Drivers - undefined function mysql__construct

MikeAdkins

I have been chasing this issue now for a week.  I am new to PHP but have been programming in ASP.NET /VB for over 10 years.  I have taken the time to document my issue with PHP connecting to a Localhost database and will try to provide a brief explanation of where I am at. 

First some environment information.
OS - Windows 10 - 64bit.
DB - Both SQL Server Manager and MySQL Community.  Both running on my development machine.
PHP - Version 7.2.12 Development Server running Localhost.
From my PHP.INI file here are the extensions I am running.
extension=mysqli
extension=odbc
extension=pdo_mysql

• Under the ;Paths and Directories  I made the following changes.
    • Uncommented include_path = ".;c:\php\includes"
    • Uncommented and edited extension_dir = "c:\PHP\EXT"

Note: I also had a number of PHP drivers for MSSQL but have abandoned that attempt and moved to MyPHP

//  MY TEST CODE \\

<?php

$link = mysql__construct("localhost", "mikea", "!QAZ2wsx");
mysql_select_db("database", $link);

$result = mysql__construct("SELECT * FROM actor", $link);
$num_rows = mysql_num_rows($result);

echo "$num_rows Rows\n";

?>

// HERE IS THE ERROR \\

Note I got the same error when trying to use PHP and MSSQL.  And the same error with a number of different coding attempts.

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function mysql__construct() in C:\PHP\www\site.php:3 Stack trace: #0 {main} thrown in C:\PHP\www\site.php on line 3

From the error syntax, it appears that the PHP is attempting to call a function out of the driver and it is not being found.  This could indicate that there is a compatibility issue the driver is not being called.  I have conducted a great deal of research and there is a lot about this problem but most are a few years old.  I have downloaded and installed the most current versions of PHP and the MySQL drivers.