Read directory, then switch video

Sigmahokies

Hi everyone,

I'm still learning, but getting deeper now. I'm trying to use JavaScript and PHP in one page in website. I'm trying to make a switch video source on html by click on button. I believe I'm doing right in PHP, but Javascript seem something is missing. I don't understand how it gone work...it said undefined.

<!doctype html>
<html>
<head>
    <link href="css/grammar.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
    <link rel="icon" href="images/sigma.png">
    <script type="text/javascript" src="js/checkbox.js"></script>
    <script>
        function clickvideo() {
            let path  = document.getElementById("video1").button;

document.getElementById("display").innerHTML = "<video width='450' controls style='border-radius: 5px;' height='240' type='mp4'>" +
                "<source src='UPLOADS/Breakfast/" + path + "'></video>";
        }

</script>
</head>
<body>
<table class="table">
    <tr><td><video width="450" controls style="border-radius: 5px;"><source src="video/Ha_Demo.mp4"></video></td></tr>
        <tr><td>
                <div id='display'><video width='450' controls style='border-radius: 5px;'><source src="UPLOADS/Breakfast/hello.mp4"></video></div></td></tr>
    <tr><td>
                <?php

$video = opendir("UPLOADS/Breakfast/");

while(($listvideo = readdir($video)) !== FALSE) {
        if(preg_match("/^[^\.].*$/", $listvideo)) {
            echo "<button id='video1' onclick='clickvideo()'>".$listvideo."</button>&nbsp;";
        }
    }
    ?>
        </td></tr>
</body>
</html>

Edited by Sigmahokies

You have to be specific where it will get path data, at the moment it's pointing to object of html button with I'd="video1", but it seems your php will provide multiple buttons with same id reference, which is not allowed. An id must be unique within a single page.

To style it yes! To identify which button was clicked you can add 'this' (no quotes) as argument for the function call