What is the best way to learn Javascript?

zakero

Hello guys.

It has been one and a half month since I started learning to code. I started off with HTML and then CSS. Learnt the basics and now I have the confidence that I can design a website. Then I started learning Javascript two weeks back and I'm finding it difficult as there are a lot of things to remember. My only source has been from W3Schools. I completed the first section of the tutorial by going through each and every "Try it Yourself" and understanding what has been done, also practiced them in "Try it Yourself" but I am unable to keep those in mind later as there are a lot of things to remember. So I'm asking the community, what is the best way to learn Javascript? Is it too early for me to learn Javascript? Should I move on to something else? What are the things I should emphasize more on in Javascript if I continue? Are there any basic projects I can work on to practice Javascript?

You valuable suggestions would be highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

I guess it comes down to, keep using JavaScript.

In my opinion, in a website sense, learn about how JavaScript can change the page of a website.
Styles, Content, Animation.

If you can figure out those out, that's all I've really needed to use JavaScript for.
You sound quite comfortable with your CSS and HTML, JavaScript can augment what's already there.

My favourite use of JavaScript is to create small windows of either confirmation, or data-entry fields for people to either expand, pop-up or reveal.

Here's a cool exercise. Can you create a text input field, that can do the following. (You'll be able to flex your HTML, CSS and JS muscles with this)

• Has a search icon as its background
  • Hides said search icon when there is either text inside, or when the text box is focused
  • Increase the font-size (A little) and height of the the text box over a small duration (<1 second).