No Initial Video Image In The Player Screen

ShipMate

Hi Gang

I'm an older disabled WWII researcher looking for some help tweaking/adjusting the HTML for a Video Player. It seems I'm missing an image (or first few frames) so the player screen doesn't appear empty. Please understand I'm working with an older 'What You See Program' called 'Kompozer' - I realize there are numerous errors in the HTML (ignorance is bliss). I'm simply looking for information to address this particular problem only. My knowledge and capability is severely restricted by physical handicap.  I designed an entire web page 10 years ago for the benefit of WWII veterans and their families. The Web Page has been working fine ever since (even with technical errors). I'm afraid I'll never be able to correct the entire web page to properly satisfy my friendly HTML experts. I'm not an HTML designer and only ask for help regarding this issue. Any help at all would be appreciated. BTW: You have a very nice school here (very nice indeed).

Sample Problem < Sample Problem

Thank You So Much -  Web Page

Edited by ShipMate

If you're alright with a little trial and error, you could try adding a timestamp onto the end of the URL, and add a preload attribute.

<video width="500" controls="" preload="metadata">
  <source src="Charley-Fox-Attack-2.mp4#t=0.1" type="video/mp4">
</video>
  • Like 1

Hi There Funce - Nice to see you! Yes sir I can sure experiment a little. I was referring to other suggestions from designers who sometimes indicate I scrap the whole site and start over. Sure can't do that ... Actually I was trying a tip from your online school regarding a 'Poster Attribute'.  As I understand this arrangement, an image would be made available while the video is downloading, or until the user hits the play button. Sounds like a great idea if I could get it to work 😧 Is this approach possible?

This is approx what I tried:

<video controls poster="/images/w3html5.gif"> (data from your online school)