Help with HTML lists please

Penny

Hi

Raw beginner here.

I'm looking at <ul> and <ol> and wondering why there is a difference in how the style is coded in the examples given:

<ul style="list-style-type:disc;">

<ol type="A">

Are these interchangeable or is there a reason why they're different? 

Thanks

They work the same, but it preferable to use CSS as mentioned on MDN: https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/HTML/Element/ol

Unless the type of the list number matters (like legal or technical documents where items are referenced by their number/letter), use the CSS list-style-type property instead.

CSS should be in an external stylesheet rather than in a style attribute.

Hi there @Penny! The <ol> tags use type=""  attribute to define the ordination. This is a very important concept, and a basic one. <ul>s don't work with the attribute type="".

Ordered/Unordered Lists can work with the property list-style-type="" because they are lists whatsoever, but ordered lists must have a type of...ordination item, A, a, i, I or  number.

Unordered List (The order doesn't matter, we don't need indicators of an item's priority.) || Ordered List (The order matters, we need indicators of an item's priority.)
. Hey                                                                                                                                                    a) This is more important to know before all;                                           
. There                                                                                                                                                 b) Ordered lists are often legal or technical documents like @Ingolme pointed;
. Hello                                                                                                                                                  c) That's why we need importance' scale.

Hope I could help! https://www.w3schools.com/html/html_lists.asp 

Edited by Ghostdancing