How to code multiply overlay in wordpress

flamur

Hi,

I should start by saying I am a total beginner at this and usually works on my first website using elementor. However I have come to a point where I cant use simple drag and drop to do what I want and need to use CSS. So I have been googleing to learn more and ofc read as much as I can on w3schools. But I do need help with this one.

I am trying to use CSS code to get the same effect as I can get with elementor PRO for pictures. There I use a overlay effect that mixes a picture with a choosen color, with multiply effect. Looks good and works good with elementor. However when I try to do this with CSS code I dont really know how to do it. I have come this far that I atleast get some effect on the pictures - so I seem to atleast target the correct pictures I want 😅 However it does not look the same as elementor. I think the pictures I try to target also has some before and after coding applied if I "inspect" the code using firefox tool for inspection. Perhaps I need to somehow write extra CSS code so that some other effect on the picture gets blocked/deactivated somehow? Is this possible? So this is the code I am using now and trying to get to do the multiply overlay:

/* custom header single resume */
.overlay-gradient::before {
    background: transparent;
}

.overlay-gradient::after {
    background: #3e59fe;
    opacity: .5;
    background-blend-mode: multiply;
}

/* custom header single job */
section.page-header-bg {
  padding-top: 282px;
    padding-bottom: 40px;
}

section.page-header-bg::after {
  background: #3e59fe;
  opacity: .5;
  background-blend-mode: multiply;
}

Do you know if this should work or is there any obvious beginner mistakes in this code? 🙈

Best regards,

Flamur

• 3 weeks later...
On 5/22/2022 at 6:53 AM, dsonesuk said:

You are missing the content: property

content:""; for :before and :after

All other properties are applied this, its like a textual element.