Creating filters over results of an ASP page

ember

Hello everyone. i've been learning a lot here in the past few weeks, but unfortunately it's not enough for what i need now...Here it goes:I have an ASP script wich scans a given directory and returns information on the files inside it (name, type, size, date last mod, owner and author). Everything works fine, but now i need a new element on this - a way to filter the results. someone i know has told me something about recordsets, but all the info i can find is about connections with Access databases.so, i'd like to ask if there is a way to sort my problem out, and if you know any links or online documentation to do so.best regards and thanks in advance, ember

i've thought about that, also, but as you may have noticed, i'm a newbie on asp... it has to display the results and only after that be able to filter them, using something like javascript dropdown navigation menus or something similar.i didn't quite understand your question about the files though...anyway, thanks for your reply :)

Are you talking about filtering, which is changing which files to show, or sorting, which is changing the order that they show up in? If you want to use Javascript to do it, you will probably have to wrap each file in a div with an ID, and then write Javascript functions using ASP that will show and hide specific files for each filter function. It's not the easiest thing, but it will work. You could also instead write out all of the file information into a javascript array, and then have functions that will display, sort or filter the data. That will be more complex, but more powerful.

yep, filtering, the page already has a sort function in it.the main problem is that the index has to be dynamic, so you don't have to be changing it each time you add or modify a file in the directory...maybe if i show you the code you can see the main idea better?thanks again :)