Display Resolution versus Browser Size

Guest Antonimo

Guest Antonimo

As a website developer, I often check the statistics here at w3schools regarding display resolution (as well as some others).On my own machines I use a display resolution of 1600 x 1200 or 1680 x 1050 but I have a keyboard shortcut (created by AHK) to resize my browser to 1024 x 768 giving me plenty of desktop space to see other programs etc.I am wondering if anybody is aware of any statistics that show the browser size chosen by users instead of display resolution.It is fairly pointless to see a growth in display resolutions above 1024 x 768 if those users like to have their browser set to a particular size with the ability to have additional desktop space.Although I have a high display resolution, I am very happy to view websites at a width of 1024 (especially if they have a "fluid" css design up to that resolution and to increase the depth of the page.Can anyone suggest where the display resolution versus actual browser size statsitics may be found?Would anyone like to comment or develop this line of thought further?Regards,