document function problem

Ankit.Hegde

Hi, I am a bit new to xslt. I am trying to use the document function to parse through a xml and get node values for my xsl stylesheet. E.g. xmlsample.xml<? xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?><RootNode><Node1>value1</Node1><Node2>value2</Node2></RootNode> ********And in my xsl stylesheet I try to get the values ******<xsl:variable name="var1" select="document('sample.xml')/RootNode/Node1"/>....<OutputNode><xsl:value-of select="$var1"/></OutputNode>******But my output that I am getting: <OutputNode/>for the document function i even tried giving the path name: i.e. document('<Drive>:\Folder\sample.xml') - but I am not getting any output. I am not able to figure out where I am going wrong, If I need to place a file in some particular path . Please do let me know. Thanks in advance.

First things first. You do know that this function should be used for parsing XML documents other then the currently transformed one, right? Not needed otherwise.Try placing the XML, the XSLT and the sample.xml file in one folder and see if it works then. If it does, try moving each of the files in a different folder to see how does your processor resolve URIs. That is, relative to the XML, to the XSLT or to the processor itself.

First things first. You do know that this function should be used for parsing XML documents other then the currently transformed one, right? Not needed otherwise.Try placing the XML, the XSLT and the sample.xml file in one folder and see if it works then. If it does, try moving each of the files in a different folder to see how does your processor resolve URIs. That is, relative to the XML, to the XSLT or to the processor itself.