NEWBIE HERE! need help with background

aND|e

hi! I'm just new to creating webpages and I've been using the internet and some books for reference. But I can't seem to find how to havea split background. by split, what I mean is, for example i want the left side of the page to be black and the other half to be pink. is this possible? I really appreciate your help! :)

hi! I'm just new to creating webpages and I've been using the internet and some books for reference. But I can't seem to find how to havea split background. by split, what I mean is, for example i want the left side of the page to be black and the other half to be pink. is this possible? I really appreciate your help! :)

make a two new div layers with "z-index: -10" and "width: 50%" other is floating left and other is floating right. Then just put the right background colors. I thik it would work.

Here is the code.

<html><head><style type="text/css">.left{position:relative;float:left;z-index:-10;width:50%;height:600px;background-color:black;}.right{position:relative;float:right;z-index:-10;width:50%;height:600px;background-color:pink;}</style><body><div><div class="left"> </div><div class="right"></div></div></body></html>

Put the left contents in left div and the right contents in right div.

Here is the code.
<html><head><style type="text/css">.left{position:relative;float:left;z-index:-10;width:50%;height:600px;background-color:black;}.right{position:relative;float:right;z-index:-10;width:50%;height:600px;background-color:pink;}</style><body><div><div class="left"> </div><div class="right"></div></div></body></html>

Put the left contents in left div and the right contents in right div.

thanks mani_!!! :)

add the body margin:0 in stylesheet.