xhtml-mp

supertrucker

Okay, as a novice web author, I'm becoming extremely frustrated with the lack of good information on xhtml-mp. Some sites recommend just using xhtml-basic for WAP browsers, or simply using WML. Other sites suggest using strictly xhtml-basic and using a parser to convert the xhtml code to WML. So, trying to conform to standards, and possibly having a HUGE lack of understanding, I set all the DTD's and headers in my pages for XHTML-MP, it's supposed to the be the new WAP 2.0, right? After I did this, however, my pages stopped validating. Here is the message I got from the W3C Validator:

Sorry, I am unable to validate this document because its content type is application/vnd.wap.xhtml+xml, which is not currently supported by this service. The Content-Type field is sent by your web server (or web browser if you use the file upload interface) and depends on its configuration. Commonly, web servers will have a mapping of filename extensions (such as ".html") to MIME Content-Type values (such as text/html).
Am I missing something obvious here? I would like to keep my site conformed to xhtml-mp, but I guess if I have to, I can set it back to XHTML-basic. It must be something I am missing, because w3c sets the standards for xhtml-mp! I could really use some help, before I begin using this PC as a boat anchor!ps. I guess I should also add that I am using the xhtml-mp in PHP scripts, but the page should still validate as xhtml-mp, right? Here's the header and DTD I'm using if it should be relevant:
<?php	header('Content-type: application/vnd.wap.xhtml+xml');	echo '<?xml version="1.0"?' . '>';?><!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//WAPFORUM//DTD XHTML Mobile 1.0//EN" "http://www.wapforum.org/DTD/xhtml-mobile10.dtd"><html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

Thank you,Supertrucker :)