Opinions needed.

Valiant200

First I want to say hi to everyone.I have dilemma and I would like an opinion. In my final year in Uni I have the opportunity to choose a path for the future. I like networks and especially the hardware part and more specifically structured cabling. I also like the developer part which deals with .Net and Windows forms etc. I wanted to know which is better for the loooong run. Also what should I need to know about Structured Cabling?

Structured Cabling huh? Well I don't want to discourage you but I liked structured cabling in College too, well the 50 feet or so we ran in the computer lab but now that I work for systems infrastructure company (I am a programmer) I have to help with installations form time to time. Let's just say after pull 20,000 feet of cable through dusty rafters and floating cielings it is no longer fun. :)I would choose the development side because that is what I like although you would probably have an easier time finding a job if you went the hardware root (at least ti's like that in my area)

Exactly. I must admit I am perplexed about this choice. Probably it would be the programmer road since I think structured cabling things is also a job for general electricians as well and not of computer/electrical engineers only. What do you think? Thanks for the replies until now.