Learner Wants More

complete novice

Hello all, i am interested in gaining more knowledge and maybe qualifications in web design, i have made a few websites up for myself as a hobby and would like to be able to know how to do everything properly and make my own good looking design`s (instead of using templates) to take my hobby to the next level.I am in full time employment and am on here to ask what the best course to go on would be to learn about everything website design? For example if i was looking for a job as a web designer what qualifications would i need? and how would i gain them? I want to be able to make a good looking, fully functional website from start to finish, xhtml, css and php are my main objectives.thanks for any help/advice you can give me.Learner

what have you made so far on your own? Most people wanting to hire someone will want to see a portfolio of their own original work, possibly coupled with some form of higher education. While it is basic enough to say read the tutorials and practice the languages on this site, that alone will probably only get you so far. In order to figure out what you're good at and what you may need help with, you're best bet is to just start creating sites, posting them on here for people's feedback, and see if your ambition matches your current talent/skill set.