New (old) kid on the block

tjs2902

Hi! Oldtone here,'Thought I'd pop in and, as I have just signed up, say Hi! I'm new to web design, but will try not to be a pain and ask daft questions. :) I'm connected with an organisation that deals with all types of accessibility issues and I have been "volunteered" to develop a web presence for our company. I was hovering around the W3Schools web pages, looking at colours and stuff on CSS and came across the forum - happy to be here. I have rubbish eye-sight and my partner is totally blind, but she can drive a PC and a screen reader like nobody I know, so my big thing with the new site is abviously accessibility......I think W3C is a good place to pick up the knowledge on how to do it.Thanks for reading thisoldtone.

Welcome to the forum and welcome to web development.Personally, I am very excited about having some individuals using assistive technology here at w3schools. I built a version (2002) of infinitec.org's website and had a very interesting experience doing so. I can't say enough to welcome you - I hope to see you involved as much as you can. I feel more members (is everyone listening) can learn a lot from the online challenges people with disabilities face. I hope your presence here will encourage folks to be more sensitive to these needs and have a better appreciation for accessibility standards.A BIG WELCOME to you. I look forward to your contributions.