Is It Possible...

therschbach

...for AJAX to look into a folder on the server to see what files exist?I have a bunch of archive text documents for almost every month going back to 2005 and they are all named january06, february07, etc... I would like to create a pop-up menu that generates a list of available archives depending on which ones are actually available. For example, I don't have a september08 so I would want that month grayed out on the menu. But I want the script to do this on the fly (AJAX) so I don't have to constantly update an archive menu list everytime I archive a month.If this is possible, and I imagine it is, how would I do it? Please keep in mind that I'm a noob at ajax, but getting more comfortable with js. Thanks!

AJAX can handle almost anything your server can throw at it. Almost all the work will happen on the server side. You'll need to learn how your scripting language reads directories, so that you can generate a list of files. The list can be sent to your browser in a variety of formats:1. plain html, like a set of links, that could be inserted into a div;2. a comma-separated list of file names, which you could split into an array, and then loop through the array to build a selection box;3. a JSON string, that would end up like #2, but save you a couple of steps.I've done a thing where I have 2 select boxes side-by-side, one for directories, the next for files, looking very much like a file-open dialog. Click on a directory in the first box, and AJAX asks for a list of items in the directory. Put that list in the next select box. Very convenient. And fast, since a list of files is pretty small, data-wise. A user with DSL or faster could almost be convinced the files are on the local hard drive.