Am I missing something or am I not cut out for this?

BooKwiznak

Hello W3School forum,I'm new to the javascript language and been following the tutorials on this site. It's been very helpful and made me understand the "concept" of javascripting...I think. I came upon a roadblock when I got to the "cookies" section. I can go through the example code, but I'm lost in what's going on or basically understanding it. I kept going back to the tutorials but I got lost and finally I asked myself, "How am I going to write all this from scratch or what do I have to remember?" So I'm a bit depressed, because I'm trying hard to understand everything and memorize everything much as I can, but it doesn't seem to be helping me as much as I thought it would. I really want to get javascript down, but I wanted to ask anyone here who considers themselves either "intermediate" or a "master" of this language, "What am I doing wrong?" I've been trying to get my spirits up but I'm beating myself up instead. I'm going to try again and again. I even went as far as to subscribe to Lynda.com, but the javascript tutorial on there seems outdated and I'm learning the concept through making a bingo card. It's also teaching me everything from backwards in a sense. Sigh.

The getCookie and setCookie functions in the tutorial can be copied and pasted into your script with no changes. If you are not sure how to use them, please ask a more specific question. If you want to UNDERSTAND them, please post a question about 1-2 specific things you find confusing. We can drag out the conversation until you understand all of it, if you like.