Alert On First Visit (solved!)

danman97

Hi,I have created an alert which tells people information when the page loads. However, I don't want it to load post-first visit as alerts can get annoying!Here is my code so far (its in the body):

<script language="Javascript">setTimeout("alert('Some passcode protected documents may not show on mobile devices such as the iPad. If your document does not load, you should ask for a file attachment instead.')",2500)</script>

Here is the page:meljones.info/downloads.htmlI was hoping there was a solution. Is cookies an option? I'm new to JavaScript...Also, I have no access to the HEAD of my page...Dan

HiThanks for the replies but could not get them to work. However I did get the new Local Storage which is new with HTML5 working which I found surprisingly easy!! :)Heres the java script:

if (localStorage.pagecount)	{	localStorage.pagecount=Number(localStorage.pagecount) +1;	}else	{	localStorage.pagecount=1;	setTimeout(alert('Please Note, \nSome passcode protected documents may not show on mobile devices such as the iPad. If your document does not load, you should ask for a file attachment instead via e-mail. \nmail@meljones.info'),2000)	}

This shows an alert the first time a page is seen and then not again unless Local Storage is cleared. It is in a separate JavaScript document.See example: Working ExampleThanks!Ps. I took most of it from this article: W3Schools - HTML5 Web Storage