check if the record exists before Insert in ASP.net

bblbailey3

I'd say I'm rather new at all this. I've grasped quite a bit by reading...and reading...and reading...to be honest this is my third day playing with asp.net/ado.net (my first week at doing anything with web based data access) I have no idea what things mean...I just know how to make them work...most of the time. I have spent a full two days trying to figure out the answer to my question.My question is:How can I run the Insert SQL code IF and only IF the Request.forms("User1") doesn't already exist in the "TABLEName" User Column?The basic idea for the project is that I have a web-based form (Form.aspx) which has a submit button. I click the button submit...it grabs the data and plunks it into the database. Then sends the user to a different page...Basically I want something like this to be included:If request.forms("User1") Exists In TABLEName([user]) then recordexistslbl.text = "The user name already exists"Else continue with the "sql add record through the transfer to new web page" partEnd IfThe "User" is a unique field in my database so it can only return one record...when queried using a WHERE clause...for exampleI mean it was pretty simple in ADO and record sets....I'm sure I've just overlooked something. Again...I'm new so I hope I explained everything clearly...in my non-professional/experienced way.Here is the relevant code so far. (Sqlver is what I planned on using to define an SQL SELECT statement)