PHP and AJAX

jel

Hello, I am new to PHP and Ajax. I was trying to execute the 'PHP and AJAX responseXML Example' from the website.However, no matter what I have tried, I cannot get the XML data to display in the browser. I can display data through the responseText object but not the reponseXML object.It appears to be null once the XML object gets to the javascript. I have been able to create an XML document in the root directory of my server from the PHP code.I am running APACHE 2.2.4 and PHP 5.2.1 on a windows 2000 system using Firefox 1.5 and IE 6.0.2.This has been very frustrating for me!Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!

Hi!I have some suggestions, but I would need to see your code (both JS and PHP, and perhaps awhat yo get from responseText), before I can give you a good help...

I can display data through the responseText object but not the reponseXML object.It appears to be null once the XML object gets to the javascript.
Make sure that you set the Content-Type header in the server's response to "text/xml" or else that .responseXML property will be null.I think, in PHP, you do that like so:
<?phpheader("Content-Type: text/xml");?>