Keywords categories?

emeraude

Hello everyone! I'm brand new to XML and I haven't actually tried to write anything in it yet, but I'm looking for something that will work best for the site I have in mind. See, I want to make some kind of 'encyclopedia' with all sorts of info in it, and that information needs to be linked to a keyword/category, so that I can display those entries by category. Is it possible to do such a thing with XML? Can I do something like <keyword>example</keyword> and then do something along the lines of: if keyword is 'example', display it...?I have the feeling that it's probably easier to reach this goal with PHP, but I just can't seem to figure out how to work with that. I have experience in XHTML & CSS and a little ActionScript 2.0, so please help me in dummy language! :) Also, one more thing:From the tutorials on this website I understood pretty much all of it, but... what exactly is 'parsing'...? :)

You're pretty close to what you think. It would be easier with an SQL database, most notably MySQL. And yes, MySQL would be easiest to use on PHP.This can be done in XML too of course, but not with the same ease really. As articles grow, you'll need more then just a category, which is where XML starts to get hard.As for "parsing". Programs and languages that read XML don't "see" what you see in the file. They call a special application, called an "XML parser" that turns it into a form they can understand. So, "parsing" is the process of turning XML files into whatever, non-text representation the application can read. Most often, this is a DOM tree, as described by the XML DOM tutorial, but it's not the only possible representation. In PHP for example, not only you have the DOM set of classes, but also the XMLReader and the SimpleXML, which read the XML in their own fashion.