Tutorial

DooVoo

Hello All,As a C++ developer I was used to being able to write all my classes in seperate files and referencing them using the #include directive. When I moved to C# development I couldn't work out how to do this and so started researching. What I found were "Assemblies", more specifically "Class Libraries". After many hours of hair pulling and furstrated rantings at tutorials that didn't explain the process in a nice simple step-by-step approach, I managed to get an implementation working. To help cement my knowledge I decided to write this following tutorial and post it on here to help people looking for the same information and for those with more knowledge to correct any mistakes or misconceptions I have made. So here goes...IntroductionASP.NET makes use of several types of assembly. This tutorial aims to describe how to manually create a Single-File Class Library and make it globally available to your applications. For this you will need:Microsoft Internet Information Services v5.1 (Available with WindowXP Professional)Microsoft .NET Framework v1.1 Microsoft .NET SDK v1.1Notepad (or your favorite text editor)What is a Class Library?A Class Library is a compiled DLL file that contains one or more class definitions. They can then be referenced by other source files in your applications for reusability.To make these classes globally available they must be registered in the Global Assembly Cache (GAC) as well as the machine level configuration. Below are all the steps needed to achieve this.Step1: Create a Strong Name key pairBefore an assembly can be added to the GAC it must have be Strong-Named. This has many benefits, which are detailed here. To make an assembly Strong-Named, we must first create a Strong Name key pair. This is done using the SDK tool “sn.exe”.At the command prompt navigate to your code directory and type:

sn -k KeyPair.snk