Make something to appear at random

omer_ahmed_tabarik

Hello!I am into developing a game. I started from scratch and did not know much of scripting but I started learning now. For the game that I'm making I want to make somethings appear at random when the sprite moves on the map.I figured this one out in PHP but in this language I can't.Please click here to see that map where the sprite moves, I uploaded and made one for just to know how to appear them, this one is just not from the game.Map test linkPlease help me. Thanks in advance.

Ok, thanks for trying me to help. I tried using that but could not. In php there is likefor example for my game I would use$chance=rand(1,5)if (chance=2 && fight_chance=="Thief")something like this but by using the command you mentioned, I'm having problems, please help me on that.

We do need to know your problem to fix it, but I think I understand it. The JS equivalent to your PHP is...

var chance=Math.floor(Math.random() * 5) + 1;if (chance==2 && fight_chance=="Thief")

Math.random() - a number (could be a fraction) greater than or equal to 0 and less than 1 (0 <= x < 1)Math.random() * 5 - a number (could be a fraction) greater than or equal to 0 and less than 5 (0 <= x < 5)Math.floor(Math.random() * 5) - an integer (not a fraction) greater than or equal to 0 and less than 5 (0 <= x < 5)Math.floor(Math.random() * 5) + 1 - an integer (not a fraction) greater than or equal to 1 and less than 6 (1 <= x < 6)

Ok, seriously that was quite helpful and I think I was able to convert it myself. Now can we make it choose something randomly, like a string?for examplerand(theif,ogre)while their and ogre have their own types, like in an array?Thanks for the help and one last thing. Can I do this I mean, round off the fraction like if it is 0.423424324234 to something like 0 or 1?Got this one :)