Menu Items to Span Entire Width

Isaiah 40:31

This must be fairly simple, but I can't figure it out. And I have tried to search here but could not find anything relevant. Yes, I am still very new to this stuff.I have a header that is 1022px wide. Inside that header I have seperate div's for each of my menu bar items. They all are to behave the same way, but thought I needed div's so I could give them the appearance of having boxes around them. I want to make all the boxes equal widths spanning the entire width of the header.Do I have to hard code the width of the boxes' div's to be divided evenly across the 1022px, or is there a way of setting it to automatically span the width regardless of how many menu bar items I have?Here is an example of what I'm trying to accomplish: http://www.wdc.com/en/buy/Note it is the line where you have "Products", "Where to Buy", "Support", "About WD", "Partners".On a related topic what is so bad about tables? I see many employers stating "no tables" in there job requirements. Are CSS tables different from HTML tables? Ie.: would using CSS tables be acceptable to said employer?One more question (I told you I'm new): What is the purpose of the octothorpe (#) in CSS coding. I don't see it employed in the tutorials.Thanks for any input!