Multiple SQL queries

sunwukung

Is it better (i.e: more efficient) to concatenate an array of data into a string for a one shot MySQL query, or is it acceptable to just loop the array and hit the DB multiple times? I wrote this piece of code, and it works fine (well it might not now, i've removed a few bits for securitah reasons) to concatenate all the values entered in a form into a single string. Perhaps a bit unwieldy in places, but hey I'm a beginner!

if (isset($_POST['submitted']))	{	#....................Function Definition...................................	#concatenates iterations of the array into a single string   #....................Function Definition...................................	function sqlstrArray($array)		{		#array to string iterator 		$n = count($array, 0);#count number of elements		$i = 1;#set counter		foreach($array as $element)			{			if($i <= 1)				{				$sqlstr = $element;				}			else				{				$sqlstr = $sqlstr . ',' . $element;				}			$i++;			}		return($sqlstr);		}	 	//.................PROCESS TEXT BASED INPUTS WITH A LOOP........................	$upd_tab = array('value1',					 'value2',					 'value3',					 'value4',					 'value5'					 );		#create an array from all added values	foreach($upd_tab as $upd_t)		{		if (!empty($_POST[$upd_t]))			{			$upd_data = mysqli_real_escape_string($dbc,($_POST[$upd_t]));#clean input						$upd[$upd_t] = $upd_data; #concatenate query segment			$key_list[] = $upd_t; 			}		}	 	$array = $key_list;#pass input values to function variable	$key_list = sqlstrArray($array);#call array to string function			#acquire current data for those keys from the database	$q_data_db = "SELECT $key_list FROM database WHERE condition = $condition";	$r_data_db =  @mysqli_query($dbc,$q_data_db);

So is it more efficient to just loop the original array - or is a string useful?