multiple table query

Aezel

HI,Please excuse me if the answer to my question has already been posted but i couldn't find it. I'm new to SQL and i have a problem with doing a query from two different sql tables onto the same php page.One table is "headlines" which should display the 3 most recent table entries and the other table is "events" which should display the latest 4 table entries.I made the headlines table and sql/php code first and it all worked fine on the php page where the sql data is called with SELECT.After that i added the events table and now the target php page displays only the most recent "headlines" entry 3 times (the same entry 3 times), and the most recent "events" entry is displayed only once..This is the sql code on the php target page i have now:

<?phprequire("/mydb");$sql = new MySQL_class;$sql->Create("mysite");$sql->QueryRow("SELECT * from headlines ORDER BY headlines_id DESC LIMIT 3");for ($i = 0; $i < $sql->rows; $i++) { 	$sql->Fetch($i); 	$date = $sql->data[1]; 	$user = $sql->data[2];	$message = $sql->data[3];$sql->QueryRow("SELECT * from events ORDER BY month, day LIMIT 4");for ($i = 0; $i < $sql->rows; $i++) { 	$sql->Fetch($i); 	$weekday = $sql->data[1]; 	$month = $sql->data[2];	$day = $sql->data[3];	$type = $sql->data[4];	$location = $sql->data[5];	$comment = $sql->data[6];	?>

The first query worked perfectly on its own. The problem started when i added the second.How do i combine the 2 $sql->QueryRow parts so both are called correctly at the same page?I'm a total noob at this :). So far I have only used existing code that a friend made once and modified it to work with my own tables. But now i need some expert counselling.Any help would be greatly appreciated :).

Thank you for replying sbrownii but I'm afraid you're gonna have to spell it out for me. I really don't know much about SQL at all and have only been modifying existing code to work with my own tables.What do u mean by closing for loops?