How Do Games Work?

MrFish

I guess this would most closely relate to java so I will use java as an example. While I'm familiar with web programming, I am a novice at desktop languages. I am taking a java class and so far all of my programs have a start and an end. The only time I can repeat actions is through a loop but that halts all other scripts while it completes this loop. Years ago I made some games in macromedia flash (back when it was macromedia still) and I'm sure the way it worked was it would loop through all of the script as fast as the processor could handle. I'm not trying to make a game but I've been wondering how it's done in java. Lets say you make a plat-former and you character can move left-right, and jump. You can also shoot an arrow which has physics applied to it. Meanwhile you have ai character that are attacking you. How would the algorithm looks for this? Does it use a loop to constantly check conditions?

[num] <- 1while [num] = 1	 if left key down   /	   [playerPosX] <- [playerPosX] - 1   \	   // play walking animation	 end if	 if right key down   /	   . . .   \	   . . .	 end if	 // More movement stuff like walking and jumping	 // Move enemies	 // If enemies are in range, attack	 // If arrows are in the air, calculate it's next position based on speed, gravity, and angle	 // And a bunch of other stuffend while