referencing other files for a menu list

niccio

Here is a total newbie question, but I'm a newbie, so here goes:I have a web page I'm making that has several expandable menues with other subexpandable menues and links in them, for example:Menu1..Sub menu 1a.....1link 1a.....1link 1b..Sub menu 1b.....2link 1a.....2link 1bMenu 2..Sub menu 2a.....2Sub menu 1a..........21link 1a..........21link 2a.....2Sub menu 2a..........22link 1a..........22link 2a..Sub menu 2b.....2link 1a.....2link 1betc...What I'm trying to figure out how to do is have a file called, say, "menu1" that would contain:Menu1..Sub menu 1a.....1link 1a.....1link 1b..Sub menu 1b.....2link 1a.....2link 1b and a file called "menu2" that would contain:Menu 2..Sub menu 2a.....2Sub menu 1a..........21link 1a..........21link 2a.....2Sub menu 2a..........22link 1a..........22link 2a..Sub menu 2b.....2link 1a.....2link 1b And in the body of the web site script have a command that would reference those files like:Reference (menu1.txt)Reference (menu2.txt)So the site would act as if the text of those files was in the site. Clear as mud?The problem I'm running into is that as the information grows (currently about 600 links in various folders) the smoothness of the opening of the menus degrades and they become increasingly choppy as they open from the bottom menu up (top menus are still smooth, middle menus are sort of choppy, last menus are really choppy). The only thing I can think to attribute this to is that every time a menu or submenu is opened the files are read from the top down so it has to read through all of the top files before it gets to the bottom ones which makes the bottom ones slow and choppy. My thought is that by putting the menus into seperate files it can skip over all of that text and go straight to the text that is to be used. Any ideas on how to code this?