textfield value

balthazarwulf

hi, i'm just beginning to learn javascript and i would like to ask some help with this.what i want to do is put the value of 1 through 10 in a textfield using the while loop after clicking the submit button.i got it to work but the value in the textfield disappears immediately after the button is clicked. i hope any one can enlighten me on this. thanks in advance.here's my code:

function buttonClick(){			var i=1;		while (i<10){			document.getElementById("textfield").value +=  i + ",";			i++;		}		if (i=10){			document.getElementById("textfield").value += i;		}	}

1. You should change this line:

if (i=10){

to this:

if (i==10){

That is not your problem, but if you don't learn the difference, it may become a problem in a later project.2. You don't post any HTML, but I'm guessing your button is inside a form? Is it a submit button? If so, your form is submitting and the page is coming back refreshed. The process probably happens so quickly you're unaware of it. There are a variety of ways to solve that, but they depend on exactly what you are trying to accomplish. A VERY clear explanation would help.

1. You should change this line:
if (i=10){

to this:

if (i==10){

That is not your problem, but if you don't learn the difference, it may become a problem in a later project.2. You don't post any HTML, but I'm guessing your button is inside a form? Is it a submit button? If so, your form is submitting and the page is coming back refreshed. The process probably happens so quickly you're unaware of it. There are a variety of ways to solve that, but they depend on exactly what you are trying to accomplish. A VERY clear explanation would help.