Send Confirmation email only on successful transaction?

classic

I am new to PHP but have completed a successful integration with a payment gateway for testing/learning purposes. What I want to now accomplish is for the script to send me a confirmation email only when there is a successful transaction. I have the code completed for the email to send and that is already functioning as well, however, it sends me an email every time there is a transaction submitted, regardless if it actually goes through and gets approval from the gateway.I was thinking of utilizing an if / else statement but I am totally stumped on this one.I appreciate any direction or help you guys have.

Your paymeny provider will send a status code with the rest of the result information and you can, as you said, use an if statement to only send the e-mail if it's there. For example, WorldPay / Business Gateway returns the variable $_POST["transStatus"] which is either Y, N or C (for cancelled). I branch depending on which status is sent.

Thanks for the info. Since I am fairly new, I am trying to figure out the proper syntax to call the email to send after the if statement. The e-mail code is below:

// Receiving variables@$ip= $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'];@$TransType = addslashes($_POST['TransType']);@$NameOnCard = addslashes($_POST['NameOnCard']);@$Amount = addslashes($_POST['Amount']);@$Street = addslashes($_POST['Street']);@$Zip = addslashes($_POST['Zip']);//Sending Email to form owner$header = "From: email@emailgoeshere.com\n"  . "Reply-To: email@emailgoeshere.com\n";$subject = "Donation Received!";$email_to = "email@emailtogoeshere.com";$message = "Visitor's IP: $ip\n". "NameOnCard: $NameOnCard\n". "Amount: $Amount\n". "Street: $Street\n". "Zip: $Zip\n"@mail($email_to, $subject ,$message ,$header );?>

I pieced the above together from several examples and it seems to work okay as I am getting the emails. Would the added if statement look something like this: