The SPL Iterator

iwato

COMMENT: For good or for bad I have discovered the Standard PHP Library (SPL). The good is that I do not have to reinvent the wheel every time I have a neat idea that I do not know how to realize. The bad is that the people who write these extensions are no dummies, and I am still a beginner.QUESTION: Could someone please explain in detail the condition of the if statement in the block of code below. Perhaps, if I could understand it, the rest of the block fall into place.

<?php	$iterator = new DirectoryIterator(dirname(__FILE__));	foreach ($iterator as $fileinfo) {		if (!$fileinfo->isDot()) {			$octal_perms = substr(sprintf('%o', $fileinfo->getPerms()), -4);			echo $fileinfo->getFilename() . ": " . $octal_perms . "<br />";		}	}?>

Roddy

Well... it has to do with how the files and folders (or directories) are represented in UNIX-like operating systems. Basically, there's the ls command, which lists all the files and directories in the current directory. Executing it outputs something like

.	 ..	 image1.gif	 image2.png	 php_folder

And there's the cd command. If you were to execute, say

cd ..

you would go to the current directory's parent. cd . doesn't take you anywhere. So if you were somewhere like

/etc/private/php/

and executed

cd ..

you would now be here

/etc/private/

This being said, the loop in your code goes through every file in the specified directory. Those are not all files, because it also goes through . and .. (which are more like... location aliases). The isDot() method checks to see if the current item is a . or .. If it isn't (notice the ! in the IF clause), the current file in the iterator is printed, along with some other info generated by the line above.It might not be that clear, but at least I hope you get the big picture.

It might not be that clear, but at least I hope you get the big picture.