If Else Statement Not Functioning Properly

himynameismark

I have a client who wants a website done for her acting and modeling portfolio similar to a friend of hers. I am currently trying to make a mock layout for her until I can get more information from her like what pages she needs and if she likes any of my ideas or my partner's better than what her friend's site has. His site is pretty basic, so we are going to work on making hers looks a little more professional. However, I am very new to PHP. I am trying my best to get some things to work for her that I am learning as I go with the PHP scripts.I have a header, footer, and a vertical navigation menu that I am trying to set up in PHP for her, so I can easily go through and change pages once I get what she needs. I haven't set up the footer, but I know I will have no issues getting that to work. However, I am having some issues getting the header and navigation menu scripts to function properly.I will start with the header. The point of this script is to display the website name (which will be static once we get her domain name set up - but this part works anyway), then the name of the page beside it in a smaller font and in a different color. Here is the script, and I will explain what does and does not work.