Positioning issues

stu0

Okay I'm pretty new to the whole web stuff as I've only been learning HTML/css in web development at college since September and haven't come across alot of how to deal with this stuff and what not so here is my issue.I want to have 2 separate divs side by side and move together when I scale up browser and stay next to each other when I scale down and I'm lost on how to go about this.I'm also confused as to how to position elements properly say I want to move things left or right and which positioning is best for example in the image I want the main content box further left but not sure which option is best.Hopefully this image helpsproblemv.th.pngHTML

<div id="main"></div><div id="main-right"></div>>

CSS

#main{background-image:url('images/index_05.png');width:928px;height:510px;margin-left:auto;margin-right:auto;margin-top:10px;overflow:auto}#main-right{float:right;background-image:url('images/index_07.png');width:273px;height:588px;margin-left:auto;margin-right:auto;overflow:auto}

Thanks

Okay I'm pretty new to the whole web stuff as I've only been learning HTML/css in web development at college since September and haven't come across alot of how to deal with this stuff and what not so here is my issue.I want to have 2 separate divs side by side and move together when I scale up browser and stay next to each other when I scale down and I'm lost on how to go about this.I'm also confused as to how to position elements properly say I want to move things left or right and which positioning is best for example in the image I want the main content box further left but not sure which option is best.Hopefully this image helpsproblemv.th.pngHTML
<div id="main"></div><div id="main-right"></div>>

CSS