Need help with iframe resizing

321steven123

Get the frame size with this

// This for non-IEmyWidth = window.innerWidth;myHeight = window.innerHeight;// This for IE6myWidth = document.documentElement.clientWidth;myHeight = document.documentElement.clientHeight;// This for IE4myWidth = document.body.clientWidth;myHeight = document.body.clientHeight;

And then you can use those variables to resize the iframe. Resize it with something like this.

document.getElementById('iframe').height=myHeight-400;document.getElementById('iframe').width=myWidth-400;

Thank you for the fast reply,Do you know if there is any property that occurs when the client changes the browser size, so I can update the iframe size? Or should I use a loop to keep refreshing to get the browser size data to update the iframe size?(sorry i am new at this)Thank you so much for the help!-Steven

I've been also thinking,if there is a property (or shall i say function) that i can use (like when the user maximizes the screen, or change the size)then i can just define the frame size again with percentages with<iframe width=40% height=%60> </iframe>What is your suggestion?

I would not recommend continuous looping it over and over again, as it may cause slowdown on some systems. You could it re-execute the script every so often, however this may cause some ruccus on your site if someone is browsing, resizes their browser window, and then seemingly randomly has the iframe they are looking at resize. I don't know if there is currently any way to detect a browser resize, but some of the threads I have read on other forums make it seem as if there isn't. Another option would be to add code to keep the page certain dimensions, however most people don't like this, and so I don't recommend that either.