CSS in XSL

dooberry

Right then, I'm a complete noob on CSS and I get the whole inline, internal, external hierarchy thing.I'm planning to use CSS combined with XSL and XML to load up some data in a nice format so that it can be printed from the page.What I'm wondering is if I use the xsl:template element with it's own inline style, can I have multiple definitions for the same type of tag?I'm looking at using different font sizes, section widths and colors depending on the type of information (name of the XML element) that I'm looking at.Has anyone done this before and can you give me any pointers?Dooberry

I had a small problem, I thought 'I know how to fix that!' - then I had a big problem
:)

I'm having this "theory" which treats XSLT as a dynamic language... you seem to be getting the scripting part of that theory, so here is a pointer on it's structural part.How about a style tag in the "main" XSLT in which there is only <xsl:call-template select="style"/> and the template style is actually included in another XSLT file which contains the desired "dynamical CSS settings". What would you say of this approach?Or if I get you wrong, you are actually thinking of the same thing, but you're wondering how to construct it? The approach I would go for is something like:

div.something {font-size: <xsl:choose><xsl:when test="local-name(node-set)='whatever'">110</xsl:when><xsl:otherwise>90</xsl:otherwise></xsl:choose>%;

Expanding each word with more conditionals (for example, put conditionals for the class), you can practically create a stylesheet with let's say 100 lines, which would otherwise take at least 200. Just remeber: you're outputting plain text. There is no tag nesting to worry about.