Shopping Cart Frameworks

ShadowMage

Hi guys,

Just wondering if you could give me some recomendations on frameworks for online shopping carts. I've found a few (and I like the looks of OpenCart) but I don't really know what I'm looking for in terms of security and usability (for someone experienced in programming like myself and someone with absolutely zero knowledge like my mom). Any advice/guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Welcome back!

The only one I've known of is Magento, but I heard it's kinda cumbersome and slightly overwhelming to deal with. Not sure if it's too big for you needs either.

Good to be back! Good to see some of the veterans are still around. ^_^

I've heard the same things about Magento so I think that one's out of the question. I need something easy to work with since I've never worked with this kind of stuff before. Did you look at OpenCart? What are your thoughts on that one?

I also thought about just writing everything from scratch but I imagine that would be a huge undertaking.

how many products? what are some of the requirements? can you just leverage the Paypal API so all the transactions and credit stuff happens offsite? Then you're just responsible for managing a products and orders tables, essentially.

Hmm....would the PayPal API allow me to process multiple payment gateways or would it restrict me to requiring customers to set up a PayPal account? I'll have to look into that. If it allows me to use gateways other than PayPal, I could definitely go that route. I just don't want to have to try setting up payment processing stuff myself.

[edit]

Wow, there's a lot of different APIs for PayPal..... :blink: Long story short is that, with the right API, PayPal does indeed let me process credit cards and stuff without customers having to have a PayPal account.

[/edit]