using 'inline' for outter div and 'block' for inner div

llass61

I am new to css. I am trying to style a group of label/input elements for an Address. I would like to be able to display the label in front of the associated input box, and then change to show on top of the associated box (modifying the css).

## set div's to inline (the input and label are inline by default)#Prefix: "Input Prefix Name"   Last:  "Input Last Name"  First:  "Input First" and also ## change inner divs, or input and label to 'block'.  Both failed!#Prefix:                           Last:                      First:"Input Prefix Name"               "Input Last Name"          "Input First" 

Getting the label to display in front is easy, but when I change my css to try and get the label and input elements to align vertically (change to 'block' display), I get really bad/weird results. Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong and how to change it? HTML