rss backup

paulnordstrom

Hello everyone - I'm new here so quick background: Im experienced in vbscript, asp and msSQL, however I have never worked with xml or rss before, so that being said i have a question that i think might be sort of traight forward, but...Is there any way to write a backup of a rss feed to a sql database? Real time? Like if you just wanted to log news stories/title/date as they happened...or would you have to have some constantly reloading page that looks for story title that are new?Is there some built in function of SQL to connect to an rss feed?Thanks a lot ,Paul

I would imagine that you would have to, at the very least, create some sort of scheduled task to load the page and create an SQL script in insert/update your database from the XML/RSS.I know MS SQL 2005 can parse XML directly, but I am not sure if that alone can trigger the request for the file/feed. If it could - then its all in the DB server. If not, then you'd have to create an ASP page to request the XML/RSS, parse it into a query, then insert/update conditioned accordingly.In conditioning, I mean, are you going to write the ASP to only get today's RSS dated information and then only run the scheduled task once a day? Or, are you going to run the scheuled task multiple times a day and truncate your table each time.With the first, you get the benefit of historical data - regardless of your source including it but then only get updates once a day (bad if updates are frequent). With the second, you get the benefits of the most updated information (depending on the frequency of the scheduled task) but your constantly truncating and inserting an entire feed and only ever retaining what is supplied in the feed - no historical information.Hope that helps.Oh, and by the way - WELCOME! :)